Student Fees at Work

Student Fees at Work

The Student Activity Fee and the Student Facility fee are used to fund various events and projects in order to improve upon the students' experience on campus.  The Student Activity Fee is used for activities and programs on campus.  The Student Facility fee is used to fund improvements and expansion of non-academic, recreation, and multi-use spaces for students.

What is the Student Activity Fee?

The purpose of the Student Activity Fee (SAF) is to improve the overall quality of the campus experience from the student’s perspective by increasing the opportunities for student involvement in the out-of-class experience. The student activity fee at Penn State New Kensington has traditionally supported a myriad of student activities and programs, increased our recreational opportunities, and improved student facilities on campus. The campus Student Activity Fee committee governs the allocation and use of SAF monies at Penn State New Kensington. This committee highly encourages student clubs and organizations to submit proposals for events and programs that support the mission of their individual organizations as well as enhance campus life for all students. The Student Activity Fee Handbook provides more in-depth information on this fee.

Submit a Student Activity Fee (SAF) Proposal

SAF Meeting Dates

All meetings take place at 12:10 p.m.

  • Tuesday, September 12, 2017
  • Thursday, September 28, 2017
  • Tuesday, October 10, 2017
  • Tuesday, October 31, 2017
  • Thursday, November 14, 2017
  • Tuesday, December 5, 2017
  • Tuesday, January 16, 2018
  • Tuesday, February 6, 2018
  • Tuesday, February 27, 2018
  • Thursday, March 22, 2018
  • Thursday, April 12, 2018
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018

What is the Student Facility Fee?

Funds generated from the Student Facilities Fee (SFF) will be used to accommodate improvements and expansion to non-academic, recreation, and multi-use space for students. Penn State New Kensington's committee for the facilities fee advises the chancellor on the proposed use of the funds. This committee is composed of students, faculty and staff in order to provide a fair and balanced means of advising on the use of the funds.

Previous Uses of Student Facilities Fees:

  • New furniture in the lobbies
  • Soccer field renovation
  • Student Government Association office furniture

Submit a Student Facility Fee (SFF) Proposal

SFF Meeting Dates

All meetings take place at 12:10 p.m.

  • Friday, September 22, 2017
  • Friday, November 10, 2017
  • Friday, January 19, 2018
  • Friday, February 9, 2018
  • Friday, March 23, 2018
  • Friday, April 13, 2018

For more information contact:

Raven Brunner
Student Government Association President

Theresa Bonk
Director of Student Affairs