New Kensington prepares for Spring 2024 commencement

Adis Juklo, alumnus and WPXI-TV meteorologist, to serve as speaker
Lion shrine statue with graduation mortarboard

The Lion Shrine at Penn State New Kensington dons a graduation mortarboard.

Credit: Rebecca Dietrich

NEW KENSINGTON, Pa. — Penn State New Kensington will honor its fall 2023 and spring 2024 graduates on May 6 with an in-person ceremony at 10 a.m. The ceremony will also be livestreamed.

Adis Juklo, alumnus and current meteorologist at WPXI-TV in Pittsburgh, will serve as the event’s keynote speaker. Juklo, who knew he wanted to be a meteorologist at a young age, began his Penn State career at the New Kensington campus for three semesters before finishing his degree in meteorology and atmospheric sciences with a minor in information technology at the University Park campus. During his time at Penn State, he interned with the National Weather Service in Pittsburgh after his sophomore year. As a student, his first opportunity to be on television came as a fill-in meteorologist at WTOV in Steubenville, Oh. After graduating, he became a full-time meteorologist with ABC27 in Harrisburg, where he spent five years. In 2022, Juklo became a fill-in meteorologist with WPXI-TV in Pittsburgh, and then moved into a full-time role in May of 2023, fulfilling his dream of forecasting the weather for his hometown. Outside of work, he enjoys travelling, watching soccer, rooting for the Pittsburgh Penguins hockey team and taking long walks.

The ceremony begins at 10 a.m. in the Athletic Center. Graduates are asked to arrive and check in at 9 a.m. in Café 780. Details and livestream information can be viewed at the New Kensington campus graduation website

Students, family and friends can follow the campus on Instagram (@psnkadmissions) to see photos during the ceremony. Individuals can share their photos by tagging the campus and using the hashtag #PSUgrad. A full gallery of photos from the ceremony, including graduate portraits from the event, will be posted to the campus Facebook page the week following commencement. 

Class of 2024

(* denotes Fall 2023 graduate walking in the ceremony)

Baccalaureate degrees 

College of Engineering, B.S., Electro-Mechanical Engineering Technology - Steven Albright*, Matthew Arrington, Timothy Bovard, Bryce Eddy, James Matus, Tyler Murphy, Noah Polka*, Heather Shultz

College of Nursing, B.S., Nursing - Joseph Lonjose*, Caylyn Piovesan*, Marissa Studer*, Jasmine Taylor*, Erin Tumas*, Faith Yanoff

University College, B.S., Biobehavioral Health - Ally Albert, Kiera Bowser, Laurel Cowling, Angelena Dove, Clayton Groves, Alexis McKinley, Lauren Sutton

University College, B.S., Business - Molly Collins, Dominic Fellowes, Isabella Glaister, Burke Izzo, Jovan Kojic*, Anthony Manso*, Hanna Morow, Michael Oliveri, Ryan Shaffer*, Nicholas Shook, Delaney Tevelonis, Braden Tristani, Reyna Vance

University College, B.A., Communications - Lucas Airhart, Jack Hrivnak, Audrey Surma

University College, B.S., Criminal Justice - Jenna Celani, Gregory Guzzo*, Rebecca Handke, Alexis Hirtz, Izabel Kislan, Alexander Kotecki, Jared Sidwell, Jaden Stonework

University College, B.S., Information Sciences and Technology - Jayden Cooper, Daniel Kinter, Kalpik Patel*

University College, B.S., Information Technology - Matthew Stiffler

University College, B.S., Project and Supply Chain Management - Nicholas Albert, Jared Busche, Zachery Ferguson, Mitchel Ray*

University College, B.A., Psychology - Sarah Nodecker, Madelaine Quarles, Kathryn Schohn

University College, B.S., Psychology - Shaina McKinney

Associate degrees 

College of Engineering, A.S., Biomedical Engineering Technology - Edward Hatcher*, Emily Miller, James Reesman III, Jessica Sabatini, Michael Sampson Jr., Frederick Urena

University College, A.S., Business Administration - Geno Gallippi, David Jimenez, James Michel III*, Colin Zaken

University College, A.S., Radiological Sciences - Tatum Clayton, Keeghan Cook, Addyson Gregg, Jaclyn Lefler, Madison Leith, Mylinda Scott, Sonya Selvaraj, Haley Wojtseck