Excellence in Teaching Award

Each year, students and other members of the Penn State New Kensington community nominate outstanding faculty for the Excellence in Teaching Award in recognition of their high-quality teaching at the campus.  From these nominations, a committee of students, previous award recipients, and the Director of Academic Affairs (as a non-voting member) select one full-time and one part-time faculty member to receive the award.  It is one of the highest honors a faculty member can receive from the campus.

What are the criteria for the teaching excellence award?

The principal criterion is excellent classroom performance including teaching methods, techniques or activities.  Excellence in other activities such as advising, supervision of learning outside the classroom, and course development are also considered.

Who can be nominated for the teaching excellence award?

Full-time faculty members who have completed one year of teaching at the New Kensington campus are eligible.  Part-time faculty members who have taught two or more semesters at the New Kensington campus are eligible.  Nominees must not have received this award during the previous five years. Previous recipients are listed below as well as on a plaque in the hallway off the main lobby.

Teaching in Excellence award winners from the last five years.
2023 Steven Evanchec David McGeary
2022 Dr. Richard Wentling Dr. Jane Viti
2021 Dr. Kristen Pueschel Ronald Seyko
2020 Dr. Penelope Morrison Marie Sauret
2019 Dr. Joseph Cuiffi Robyn Chotiner
2018 Melba Amador Gregory DePalma

How can I nominate someone?
Nominations will be accepted from:

  • Penn State students with second semester standing or higher who have completed at least one semester at New Kensington
  • Penn State New Kensington Faculty members
  • Penn State New Kensington Full-time Staff members 

Nominations may be submitted through this online Excellence in Teaching Nomination Form.

Paper nomination forms are also available in the Office of Academic Affairs.

When are nominations being accepted?
Nominations for the Excellence in Teaching Award are accepted annually between February 1 and March 15.